Sweet Chilli Tomato Chutney

I always love it when I have to get my chutneys, relishes & preserves cookbook out as it means that the harvest is starting to look good and I have sufficient surplus to create some of my favourite side dishes. The first up this year are the tomatoes, this is the largest planting of tomatoes I have ever taken on (46 plants of differing varieties) and the first crop was somewhat overwhelming at 2.5Kg.

Whilst sorting the tomatoes, I found that about 500g had splits or were soft so needed to be used first and in what better way than a chutney. I have several recipes passed down from my Mother but decided to experiment this year and try and produce a mild sweet chilli tomato chutney.

Prep Time: 30 Minutes

Cooking Time: 45-60 minutes minutes

Serves: 2 Jars

  • 500g mixed colour tomatoes – roughly diced
  • 250g red onions – thinly sliced
  • 1 meduim apple peeled, cored and diced
  • 2 garlic – finely chopped
  • thumb of ginger – finely chopped
  • 1 tsp chilli flakes
  • 75ml red wine vinegar
  • 150g brown sugar
  • Add all of the ingredients and give a good stir to well mix.
  • Over a medium/high heat, bring to boil then reduce to a simmer.
  • Cook out for 45-60 minutes or until moisture of the liquid has gone and the chutney has a jammy texture.
  • Decant to sterilized jars and allow to cool before capping. will store up to 4 months.
  • Refrigerate once opened.

This is a very quick and simple chutney and allows for experimentation. I have tried mine in a sandwich with cheese or ham (or both), on a plate with cheese and cold meats, and with sausage and chips.

Leave a comment